AFRICA IN BASEL - AN URBAN SAFARI
 


-> Home

-> Deutsche Seite

Partner:

Verein Frauenstadtrundgang Basel

African History at the the University of Basel

Basler Afrika Bibliographien

Archives of Mission 21 (previously Basler Mission)

Centre for African Studies Basel

Previous Projects:

Posters in the struggle, 31.05-09.07.2006

Great Books on Africa, 27.03.-26.06.2007


Individual bookings can be made at any time.

-> Bookings  

Press downloads
-> Station photos (6.4 MB)
-> Pressemappe
(Adobe PDF, 27.6 MB)

Press clippings
-> DRS2 Aktuell 23.05.2008 (mp3)
-> Basler Zeitung 22.05.2008 (pdf)
-> WOZ Die Wochenzeitung 22.05.2008 (pdf)
-> Basellandschaftliche Zeitung 17.05.2008 (jpg)
-> ProgrammZeitung Mai 2008 (pdf)
-> Basler Zeitung 15.04.2008 (jpg)
-> Basellandschaftliche Zeitung 15.04.2008 (jpg)
-> ProgrammZeitung
März 2008 (pdf)

Africa in Basel - An Urban Safari

This tour was created in 2008 within the framework of a two-semester course at the  Centre for African Studies Basel and in cooperation with the Verein Frauenstadtrundgang Basel. It has since been reworked a couple of times and is offered both at regular intervals and on demand.

The city of Basel has a long tradition of diverse and captivating connections with the African continent. These century-old interweavements of political, cultural and scientific nature have influenced the development of Basel and left traces which we are keeping track of in this city tour.

Contemporary letters, photographs and posters illustrate the diverse aspects of an "African" Basel. The city safari will be guided by students of the University of Basel and can be booked in German and English.

Contact

Centre for African Studies Basel
Petersgraben 11
4051 Basel
Tel. 061 267 34 82
zasb(ät)unibas.ch

Publication

The students also published an attractive brochure of 32-pages (English and German) in which they present further aspects of the themes of the city tour. They have also incorporated new topics such as the slave trade, alterity or cartography and suggest literature for those who want to read on. During the guided tour the publication is sold at the price of CHF 5.-. It can be ordered from zasb(at)unibas.ch at the price of CHF 10.- including postage and handling, additional copies are sold at CHF 5.- each. 

 
     
African Art
If we encounter African art in the public sphere it is most often in the form of the so-called 'tribal art'. But how do perceive art from Africa? Do we make a difference between tribal art and African art? Do we ever consider where these objects are shown or how they are displayed or labelled? Und ultimately, what does African art mean to us?
The elephant sculptures at the Münster cathedral will spark off a discussion on the exotic which is an important factor in the public perception of African art. At this station we will further show examples of both traditional and contemporary African art in Basel. We will trace how African art found and still finds its way to Basel. Finally, we ask what African art means to us. With the help of the examples used we would like to stimulate a reflection process on our own images of art from Africa.
 
     
Atlantis / Jazz
Most people in Basel have visited the bar and nightclub Atlantis in the Klosterbergstrasse 23 at some point. But only few know about the exciting history of Atlantis. The club was established by the two brothers Paul and Kurt Seidler in 1947. The brothers were famous persons in Basel, especially known for their many journeys to Africa. In the 1940s they opened the Café Tropic where they exhibited the items brought home from their African adventures. It was an instant hit. People loved the exotic flair and the quirky combination of café and museum. Boosted by this success, the Seidler brothers decided to open yet another café with African influences - Atlantis was born. Going to Atlantis one could gaze at snakes, monkeys, and of course the famous crocodile. In the late 50s the club was transformed into a Jazz venue and today, more than 60 years after its opening, it is still a popular haunt in Basel.
 
     
Early Visitors
On the basis of original letters of the nineteenth-century it will be demonstrated, that the house of C.F. Spittler at Stapfelberg 3 was renowned as a centre of the African Diaspora in Basel. Here we will look at the experiences of the African visitors to Basel in the nineteenth-century. The focus will be especially on Susanna Luise Anjama Spittler (1846-1882). This woman came to Basel in 1858 and her life here contributed to the history of both the village of Riehen and the city of Basel.
 
     
Völkerschauen (Basel Zoo)
Between 1879 and 1935, the zoo in Basel did not only show exotic animals, but next to that it also showed "exotic" people. A large part of these hired people hailed from Africa, such as the "Somali-Caravan" of Hamburg animal trader Carl Hagenbeck (pictured on left). These "People Exhibitions" are one of the central topics of our guided city-tour. We approach this extraordinary form of entertainment by asking about its origins and its organisation. We will look at the appeal which these exhibitions held for the people in Basel and the reasons for the sudden disappearance of the entertainment. Travel back in time and experience the then contemporary fascination with the "alien and savage".
 
     
  Apartheid
Throughout its existence, the apartheid regime in South Africa triggered a host of responses all over the world. The people of Basel, the council and the local economy also responded to apartheid in different ways. In this city tour we want to sensitise people about Basel and its relations to apartheid by looking at the role this city and its institutions have played in fighting for, or against apartheid. The main aim is to expose the arguments that were put forward by industrialists in Basel and the people of the city regarding their position to the apartheid government in South Africa.
 
     
African Shops
The easiest way to go to Africa in Basel is by walking into an AfroShop. They are a direct link to the "Black Continent" and one can find these shops all over the city. African Shops offer spices, vegetables, meat, fish and other special foods. They are well visited by Africans who want to enjoy their traditional food, and of course everyone else who likes to discover something new.
Internet access, public phones, hair care and cosmetic products are also part of the services offered by the AfroShops to its customers. For Africans living in Basel the shops create a unique social space where one can casually meet, exchange news about their home countries and also discuss the peculiarities of living in Switzerland.
-> Map Afro Shops in Basel (02.05.2008)
 
     
Mission
The Basel Mission, founded in 1815, became a central hub between Europe and Africa in the nineteenth-century. Hundreds of missionaries from around Europe were trained and commissioned in Basel, and many African visitors to the city came because of connections with the mission. What principles and goals motivated this mission? How did the historical movements of abolition, colonialism and pietism interact to influence the history of the Basel Mission? In this guided city-tour Africa we aim to find out exactly that.
In recent years, the Basel Mission joined with other organizations to form the evangelical mission partnership called Mission 21; together they continue to cooperate with African churches (as well as churches in other parts of the world) to work for peace, equality, and justice in the spirit of the gospel.

AFRICA IN BASEL - AN URBAN SAFARI
 


-> Home

-> English site

Partner:

Verein Frauenstadtrundgang Basel

Geschichte Afrikas am Historischen Seminar der Universität Basel

Basler Afrika Bibliographien

Archiv von Mission 21 (ehem. Basler Mission)

Zentrum für Afrikastudien Basel

Bisherige Projekte:

Plakate im Kampf, 31.05.-09.07.2006

Great Books on Africa,
27.03.-26.06.2007


Die Führung kann jederzeit privat gebucht werden.

-> Buchungen

Pressedownloads
-> Stationenbilder (6.4 MB)
-> Pressemappe
(Adobe PDF, 27.6 MB)

Medienecho
-> DRS2 Aktuell 23.05.2008 (mp3)
-> WOZ Die Wochenzeitung 22.05.2008 (pdf)
-> Basler Zeitung 22.05.2008 (pdf)
-> Basellandschaftliche Zeitung 17.05.2008 (jpg)
-> Basellandschaftliche Zeitung 15.04.2008 (jpg)
-> ProgrammZeitung Mai 2008 (pdf)
-> ProgrammZeitung
März 2008 (pdf)
-> Basler Zeitung 15.04.2008 (jpg)

 

Stadtsafari - Afrika in Basel

Dieser Stadtrundgang wurde 2008 vom  Zentrum für Afrikastudien Basel (ZASB) in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Verein Frauenstadtrundgang Basel  in einer zweisemestrigen Lehrveranstaltung ausgearbeiteit und ist seither mehrfach überarbeitet worden.

Ob Völkerschauen, Jazz oder Afroshops: Die Stadt Basel besitzt eine lange Tradition von vielfältigen und spannenden Beziehungen mit dem afrikanischen Kontinent. Diese jahrhundertealten Verflechtungen wirtschaftlicher, politischer, kultureller und wissenschaftlicher Art haben die Entwicklung Basels beeinflusst und Spuren hinterlassen, denen wir auf dem Rundgang folgen werden. Zeitgenössische Briefe, Fotografien oder Plakate illustrieren dabei vielfältige Aspekte eines "afrikanischen" Basels.

Die Stadtsafari wird von Studentinnen und Studenten der Universität Basel geführt und kann auf Wunsch in englischer Sprache gebucht werden.

Kontakt:

Zentrum für Afrikastudien Basel
Petersgraben 11
4051 Basel
Tel. 061 267 34 82
zasb(ät)unibas.ch

Aktuell:

Ergänzend zum Rundgang haben die Studierenden eine attraktive zweisprachige Broschüre (32 Seiten) verfasst. Die Publikation beleuchtet weitere Facetten der im Rundgang dargestellten Themen, respektive nimmt zusätzliche wie den Sklavenhandel, Alterität oder Kartografie auf. Zu jedem Thema werden Lektürehinweise gegeben.

Die Broschüre wird im Rahmen der Führung zum Preis von CHF 5.- angeboten. Bestellungen richten Sie bitte an das Zentrum für Afrikastudien Basel (zasb[at]unibas.ch). Das erste Exemplar kostet CHF 10.- inkl. Versandkosten, jedes weitere CHF 5.-.

 
     
Afrikanische Kunst
Afrikanische Kunst begegnet uns im öffentlichen Raum sehr oft vor allem in der Form der sogenannten "Stammeskunst". Doch wie nehmen wir sie wahr?
Machen wir einen Unterschied zwischen afrikanischer tribaler Kunst und afrikanischer Kunst? Achten wir darauf, wie diese Kunstwerke ausgestellt oder wie sie beschriftet sind? Und schliesslich, was bedeutet uns afrikanische Kunst?
Die Elefanten-Skulpturen an der Apside des Basler Münsters regen uns zu einer Diskussion über Exotismus an. Dieser Exotismus ist ein wichtiges Faktor in der Wahrnehmung afrikanischer Kunst. Wir diskutieren Beispiele traditioneller und zeitgenössisch afrikanischer Kunst in Basel. Unser Rundgang beleuchtet, wie die Kunstobjekte aus Afrika früher und heute ihren Weg nach Basel gefunden haben. Ausserdem fragen wir danach, was wir unter afrikanischer Kunst verstehen und was sie uns bedeutet. Mit den gezeigten Beispielen regen wir an, unsere eigenen Vorstellungen des Exotischen, von afrikanischer Kunst zu hinterfragen und reflektieren.
 
     
Atlantis / Jazz
Schon viele Leute besuchten die Bar/ den Club Atlantis in der Klosterbergstrasse 23, aber nur wenige kennen seine aufregende Geschichte. Der Club wurde 1947 von den zwei Brüdern Paul und Kurt Seiler gegründet. Die Brüder waren bereits berühmt in Basel, da man von ihren zahlreichen Reisen nach Afrika wusste. In den 1940er Jahren eröffneten sie ihr erstes Geschäft, das ,,Café Tropic", in dem sie ihre Souvenirs aus Afrika ausstellten. Dieses neue Konzept von Café war äusserst erfolgreich, da die Gäste das exotische Flair sowie die Kombination aus Café und Museum liebten. Von ihrem Erfolg angespornt, entschieden sich Paul und Kurt Seiler, ein weiteres Café mit afrikanischem Einfluss zu eröffnen - und so war das Atlantis geboren! Wenn man ins Atlantis ging, sah man Schlangen, Affen und natürlich das berühmte Krokodil. Während der späten 50er Jahre wurde es zu einem Jazz Club umgebaut und heute, 60 Jahre später, ist es noch immer ein beliebtes Lokal in Basel.
 
     
Frühe Besucher
Anhand von Originalbriefen des 19.Jahrhunderts wird aufgezeigt, dass das Haus von C.F. Spittler am Stapfelberg 4 als Zentrum für die afrikanische Diaspora galt. Die Perspektive liegt hierbei auf der Erfahrung der afrikanischen Besucher in Basel im 19. Jahrhundert. Diese Station konzentriert sich vor allem auf Susanna Luise Anjama Spittler (1846-1882), die 1858 nach Basel kam und sowohl auf das Dorf Riehen als auch auf die Stadtgeschichte Basels mit ihrem Leben einwirkte.
 
     
Völkerschauen
Zwischen 1879 und 1935 stellte der Zoologische Garten Basel nebst exotischen Tieren auch ,,exotische" Menschen zur Schau. Ein Grossteil der angeheuerten Truppen stammte aus Afrika, wie zum Beispiel die ,,Somali-Karawane" des Hamburger Tierhändlers John Hagenbeck (Bild). Dies macht die ,,Völkerschauen" zu einem zentralen Thema unserer Stadtsafari. Wir nähern uns einer aussergewöhnlichen Form der Unterhaltung durch Fragen nach ihrer Entstehung, ihrer Organisation, dem Anklang, den sie bei der Basler Bevölkerung erfuhr und den Gründen für ihr plötzliches Verschwinden. Lassen Sie sich in die Zeit um die Jahrhundertwende zurückversetzen und erleben Sie die damals herrschende Faszination für das ,,Fremde und Wilde" hautnah.
 
     
Apartheid
Das Apartheid Regime in Südafrika löste während seines ganzen Bestehens eine Fülle verschiedener Reaktionen aus. Auch die Menschen in Basel, die hiesige Regierung und offiziellen Institutionen reagierten auf verschiedene Art und Weise auf Apartheid. Im Stadtrundgang Afrika wollen wir die Zuhörer auf die Beziehungen zwischen Basel und Apartheid sensibilisieren. Wir untersuchen die Rolle, welche die Stadt und ihre Institutionen im Kampf für, oder gegen die Apartheid spielten. Welche Position nahm zum Beispiel das offizielle Basel bezüglich der Apartheid-Regierung in Südafrika ein, und wie reagierten die Einwohner Basels darauf?
 
     
African Shops
Um in Basel nach Afrika zu gelangen, geht man am einfachsten in einen AfroShop. Diese sind eine direkte Verbindung zum Schwarzen Kontinent und es gibt sie in der ganzen Stadt. AfroShops haben verschiedene Gewürze, Gemüse, Fleisch, Fisch und andere Spezialitäten im Angebot. Sie sind besonders bei Afrikanern, die auf ihre traditionelle Küche nicht verzichten wollen, und natürlich bei allen anderen, die etwas Neues entdecken wollen, beliebt.
Internet- und Telefon-Verbindungen, Haarpflegeprodukte sowie Kosmetika gehören ebenfalls zum breiten Angebot eines AfroShops. Für in Basel lebende Afrikaner sind diese Geschäfte ein gesellschaftlicher Treffpunkt, wo man ungezwungen miteinander plaudern kann, Neuigkeiten aus der Heimat austauschen und die Besonderheiten der Schweiz besprechen kann ...
-> Karte AfroShops in Basel (02.05.2008)
 
     
Mission
Die 1815 gegründete Basler Mission wurde bald zu einer zentralen Verbindung zwischen Europa und Afrika im 19. Jahrhundert. Hunderte von Missionaren aus ganz Europa wurden in Basel ausgebildet und als Missionare bevollmächtigt. Wegen dieser Verbindung der Mission mit ihrem Kontinent, kamen auch viele afrikanische Besucher nach Basel. Aber welche Prinzipien und Ziele hatte die Mission? Inwiefern beeinflussten die historischen Strömungen der Abschaffung der Sklaverei, des Kolonialismus und Pietismus die Geschichte der Basler Mission? In diesem Stadtrundgang wollen wir Antworten auf diese Fragen finden.
In den vergangenen Jahren verband sich die Basler Mission mit anderen Organisationen und daraus entstand die Evangelische Missionspartnerschaft Mission 21. Diese Partnerschaft arbeitet noch stets mit afrikanischen Kirchen, sowie Kirchen überall in der Welt, zusammen. Ihr Ziel ist es, für Frieden, Gleichheit und Gerechtigkeit im Geiste der Bibel zu arbeiten.